top of page

Sprague Racquetball Team History

The Oregon High School Racquetball league (OHSRL) started in 1995. Sprague was one of the first teams to join and the team consisted of 6 boys and 1 girl. Since then Sprague has grown to be one of the top premier high school racquetball teams in the United States.

Sprague Racquetball has won 7 National Team Titles, 6 State Team Titles, and numerous individual State and National player titles in our history. We are the second most decorated high school program in the nation, with many more wins to come.

We do not have tryouts. If you want to work hard, have fun, and play racquetball we want you. Almost all of our high school players have never picked up a racquet before they joined the team and each year we prove to be one of the premier teams in the United States.

We are governed by the United States Olympic Committee.

Our Season typically starts around Mid-September and goes through the end of February. We have two practices per week (2 hours each practice) at the Courthouse Athletic Club (Lancaster and South River Road). There are also optional summer practices for existing and new players to work on their game or try it out before the season starts.  If you're an 8th grader on up to a senior and attend or will attend Sprague then come visit us any Thursday from 6-8pm.

Scholarships are available! Seniors can apply for the Josh Nelson Memorial Scholarship - multiple $500 scholarships are handed out annually - 3 were awarded in 2019. See the Scholarship tab when applications are being accepted! Seniors can also apply for the National Kerwood Scholarship and receive $500 towards college. Grades, racquetball accomplishments, attitude, and a written essay are viewed for each applicant at the end of the season.


Head Coaches

Don Kerzel - 2016 Developmental Coach of the Year from the United States Olympic Committee

Bill Edmiston - 1998 Developmental Coach of the Year from the United States Olympic Committee

Coaching Staff

Dan Arnold

Dar Afshar

Arash Afshar

Dan Goettsch

Eric Nelson

Ryan Edmiston

Frank Merchant-Burke

Maddie Kerzel

bottom of page